## External Review of Faculty Governance - Agenda - April 23-25, 2007

**Reviewers:** 

William Tierney, Professor of Higher Education, University of Southern California

Joan Girgus, Professor of Psychology, Princeton University Gregory Scholtz, Professor of English, Wartburg College

Arrive Lewisburg Monday, April 23 – Late afternoon

## Monday Evening:

Dinner with President Brian Mitchell, Provost Mary DeCredico, Chair of Faculty Marty Ligare, Secretary of Faculty Jamie Hendry.

Private briefing: President.

Note: this event is scheduled to be held in the President's Dining Room, 233 Langone Center, beginning as close to 6:00 PM as is possible for Dr. Girgus to arrive. At 7:30, the retirement speech of Professor Michael Payne will occur in an adjacent room. Provost DeCredico and Professors Ligare and Hendry may then adjourn, if they choose, to attend the lecture. President Mitchell may then conduct his private briefing and, if his schedule allows, join the reception for Professor Payne following his lecture.

## Tuesday:

Breakfast: 7:30 – 9:00: President's Dining Room

Faculty Council – The Faculty Council consists of elected representatives from the faculty as a sub-component of University Council. Those members are

Chair of the Faculty	M. Ligare
Secretary of the Faculty	P. Dubois (on leave 2006-2007)
Secretary of the Faculty	J. Hendry (leave replacement)
Faculty - Social Sciences	T. Hiller
Faculty - Natural Sciences and Mathematics	P. Gorkin
Faculty - Humanities	L. Patrick
Faculty - Engineering	P. Stryker
Untenured Faculty - At large	M. McGuire (on leave spring 2007)
Untenured Faculty - At large	D. Reeder (leave replacement)

Return to Traditional Reading Room.

9:00 - 9:30: Professor Marty Ligare, Chair of the Faculty

- 9:30 10:30: Provost Mary DeCredico and Deans Chris Zappe, Interim Dean, College of Arts and Sciences, and James Orbison, Dean, College of Engineering
- 10:30 10:45: Break
- 10:45 11:15: Jerry Rackoff, Assistant Vice President for Planning and Institutional Research, to review Middle States Reports and Supplements
- 11:15 11:45: Wayne Bromfield, General Counsel, to review Charter, Bylaws, Board Committees
- 11:45 1:30: President's Dining Room

Lunch with present and immediately past chairs of University and Faculty Committees. List of attendees to be provided upon arrival.

Return to Traditional Reading Room.

- 1:30 2:15: Department Chairs
- 2:15 2:30: Break
- 2:30 3:00: Bucknell Student Government Representatives
- 3:00 4:00: Senior Administrative Staff:
  - David Surgala, Vice President for Finance and Administration
    Sam Lundquist, Vice President for Development and Alumni Relations
    Kurt Thiede, Vice President for Enrollment Management (if available)
    Charlie Pollock, Vice President for External Relations
    Pete Mackey, Chief Communications Officer
    Dave Myers, Chief of Staff
    Wayne Bromfield, General Counsel
- 4:00 4:30: Professor Allen Schweinsberg and Dean Emerita and Psychology Professor Genie Gerdes to discuss statutory history Professor Schweinsberg and Dean Gerdes have been critical editors and interpreters of the Faculty Handbook and will be able to provide insight into the origin of some of the policies and interpretations.
- 4:30 5:30: Open Session. Invitation to members of community to stop in Traditional Reading Room and talk to reviewers.
- 5:30 Recess. Option to reviewers to dine on campus or retreat to local restaurant. Evening free to review day or relax.

## Wednesday

7:30 – 8:30: President's Dining Room.

Breakfast with Professors Ligare, Michael Payne, John Peeler and David Ray

These four professors represent the Faculty Chair for the last 25 years.

Return to Traditional Reading Room

8:30 – 10:30: Group interviews of up to 5 faculty members for one-half hour each. Groups to be selected by self-nomination and by Faculty Council selection. Rosters to be provided upon arrival. At present time, likely groups include one group of persons who have served as faculty and administrators, one group of untenured faculty members, and two or three groups of tenured professors. Intention is to allow no more than 6 persons to be interviewed and, if necessary, to break groups into smaller subgroups with one or two reviewers present.

- 10:30 10:40: Break
- 10:40 11:15: Faculty Council
- 11:15 11:45: President and Provost
- 11:45 12:15: Private session for reviewers to review materials and interviews.
- 12:15 1:15: President's Dining Room.

Lunch with President, Provost, Susan Crawford, Joe Ciffolillo, Ron Benjamin, Professors Ligare and Hendry. Preliminary observations to be shared.

1:15 – 1:45: Trustees

? Written report to follow.