Physics 331 Advanced Classical Mechanics

Course Information

Course Guide
Syllabus (Part I)
Miscellaneous Formulae
(taken from "Four-Figure Mathematical Tables" by G.W.C. Kaye and T.H. Laby)

Test Information

Test 2 Preparation
Test 2 Useful Information
Test 3 Preparation
Test 3 Useful Information
Final Exam Preparation

Final Examination

Final Examination

Office Hours

Monday: 10-11 (Ph331 only); 11-12
Tuesday: 2-3 (most weeks)
Wednesday: 2-3
Thursday: 5-5:45
Friday: 2-3

Problem Sets

Guide to Writing Solutions
Sample Problem 1
Sample Problem 2
Problem Set 1  (Friday, August 28)     
Problem Set 2  (Monday, August 31)     
Problem Set 3  (Wednesday, September 2)     
Problem Set 4  (Friday, September 4)     
Problem Set 5  (Monday, September 7)     
Problem Set 6  (Wednesday, September 9)     
Problem Set 7  (Friday, September 11)     
Problem Set 8  (Monday, September 14)     
Problem Set 9  (Wednesday, September 16)     
Problem Set 10  (Monday, September 21)     
Problem Set 11  (Wednesday, September 23)     
Problem Set 12  (Friday, September 25)     
Problem Set 13  (Wednesday, September 30)     
Problem Set 23  (Wednesday, November 4)     
Problem Set 24  (Friday, November 6)     
Problem Set 25  (Monday, November 9)     
Problem Set 26  (Wednesday, November 11)     
Problem Set 27  (Friday, November 13)     
Problem Set 28  (Monday, November 16)     
Problem Set 29  (Wednesday, November 18)     
Problem Set 30  (Friday, November 20)     
Problem Set 31  (Monday, November 23)     
Problem Set 32  (Tuesday, December 1)      solutions
Problem Set 33  (Wednesday, December 2)      solutions
Problem Set 34      solutions

Useful Programs

duffing.nb  models the Duffing equation using Mathematica
pendulum_dd.nb  models the driven, damped pendulum using Mathematica

Animations

Single Pendulum
Sensitivity to Initial Conditions (driven, damped pendulum)
Double Pendulum
Centre of Mass (I)
Orbital Motion
Free Precession