Schedule 02

This is a tentative schedule of topics and classes. Please revisit often, as the schedule can possibly change in order to accommodate for the pace of learning of the group.

Date Topic Reading Notes
08/28/13 Wednesday Introduction to C programming [View]
[Print]
08/30/13 Friday C Pointers [View]
[Print]
09/02/13 Monday Introduction to operating systems SGG 1,2 [View]
[Print]
09/04/13 Wednesday Operating System Structures SGG 2 [View]
[Print]
09/06/13 Friday Process SGG 3 [View]
[Print]
09/09/13 Monday Process creation
IPC — shared memory
09/11/13 Wednesday Process Quiz
IPC — message passing using Unix “pipe”
09/13/13 Friday Thread Introduction SGG 4 [View]
[Print]
09/16/13 Monday Thread Attributes and Parameters [View]
[Print]
09/18/13 Wednesday Introductions to Unix Signals and
Multicore Programming in OpenMP
[View]
[Print]
[View]
[Print]
09/20/13 Friday Introduction to Synchronization SGG 5 [View]
[Print]
09/23/13 Monday TestAndSet, Swap [View]
[Print]
09/25/13 Wednesday Semaphores and Monitors [View]
[Print]
09/27/13 Friday Classic Synchronization Problems [View]
[Print]
09/30/13 Monday Readers-Writers Problem, Introduction to CPU Scheduling SGG 6
10/02/13 Wednesday Introduction to CPU Scheduling [View]
[Print]
10/04/13 Friday CPU Scheduling Algorithms [View]
[Print]
10/07/13 Monday Midterm Exam 1
10/09/13 Wednesday CPU Scheduling (cont.)
10/11/13 Friday Introduction to Deadlocks SGG 7 [View]
[Print]
10/14/13 Monday Fall break 
10/16/13 Wednesday Deadlock Prevention/Avoidance [View]
[Print]
10/18/13 Friday Deadlock Handling
10/21/13 Monday Deadlock Detection [In-Class Work]
[View]
[Print]
10/23/13 Wednesday Introduction to Memory Management SGG 8 [View]
[Print]
10/25/13 Friday Contiguous Allocation and Paging   [View]
[Print]
10/28/13 Monday Paging Systems
10/30/13 Wednesday Page Tables and TLBs
11/01/13 Friday Introduction to Virtual Memory SGG 9
11/04/13 Monday Demand Paging [View]
[Print]
11/06/13 Wednesday Page Replacement [View]
[Print]
11/08/13 Friday Page Replacement (cont.) [View]
[Print]
11/11/13 Monday Midterm Exam 2
11/13/13 Wednesday File System Introduction SGG 11 [View]
[Print]
11/15/13 Friday Directories and Meta-data [View]
[Print]
11/18/13 Monday File System Implementation (1) SGG 12 [View]
[Print]
11/20/13 Wednesday File System Implementation (2) [View]
[Print]
11/22/13 Friday File System Implementation (3) [View]
[Print]
11/25/13 Monday File System Implementation
Quiz
11/27/13 Wednesday Thanksgiving break     
11/29/13 Friday Thanksgiving break 
12/02/13 Monday I/O System (1) SGG 13 [View]
[Print]
12/04/13 Wednesday I/O System (2) [View]
[Print]
12/06/13 Friday I/O System (3) [View]
[Print]
12/09/13 Monday

12/13/13 Friday Final Exam 3:30 p.m. — 6:30 p.m. Dana 132
Print Friendly